To Argue or Not to Argue . . .

hatchet

I’ve learned that there are some people, who regardless how kind, friendly or patient we are, will always find a way to be difficult. There was a time in my life when I felt the need to stand my ground with such folk; refuse to allow them to push me around. Well, as of late, I’ve changed my stance. Now, I simply shut my mouth and refuse to engage in a word volley.

For years, I entertained the necessity to prove my point, to show these antagonists what I was made of. What stopped me on a dime, was a scripture I read in the Book of Proverbs. I had seen this verse before but it never struck me until recently. I’ve been doing a daily devotional reading of the Psalms and Proverbs and one morning, I awakened to an epiphany in my inner being.

Proverbs 12:16 flew off the page and jolted me upright in bed. I remember thinking, “this is the answer to my problem.”  It reads, “A fool is quick-tempered, but a wise person stays calm when insulted,”  You see, I don’t like to argue. I feel arguing is futile, divides family and friends and can often make us look like idiots. It can cause loved ones to become estranged and wound some so deeply, they never recover.

The words in Proverbs 12:16 was the solution I’d been searching for. Now, when someone responds to me with a rude statement or answers a question I pose sarcastically, I remind myself of Proverbs 12:16.

As of late, I’ve been concentrating on inner peace and joy. Ignoring words sent to harm me has been a God send, literally. May I suggest, you try it too? Perhaps you don’t have the same problem I did with folk disrespecting you with their words, if not, I applaud you. If, however, you do, remember Proverbs 12:16 “A fool is quick-tempered, but a wise person stays calm when insulted.”  I promise you your life will be completely different.

Ciao!

Savannah J.  providing a place of tranquility away from the stress of life. 

Http://www.thesavannahjpublications.com 

Follow Savannah on Twitter   http://bit.ly/1tBBC6o 

on Google Plus http://bit.ly/1pnq9sP 

and on Facebook http://on.fb.me/10p1o32

Savannah is the author of The Prey now available in eBook on Kindle http://amzn.to/1xg0pgM and on Google Play Books http://bit.ly/1q5hncz

Also look for Raising Tristan on Google Play Books http://bit.ly/1pL4GqN and on Kindle http://amzn.to/1AlHl6g

4 thoughts on “To Argue or Not to Argue . . .

  1. Thank you Savannah, see I too had the same issue. People just seem to have the need to just say whatever they felt to me or about me. I felt it was my jib to set them straight at any cost. Until about 1 week ago, an incident occurred which hurt my feeling, and well others had suggesting on how I should handle it. I even attempted one way to handle it, which fail even before I could get started. Then two days later the same person approached me and ask if I had seen the message that they sent me. My reply was yes with a smile, it caught the person by surprise, then I proceeded to walk away with the biggest smile on my face. I heard the spirit of the lord says “Well done daughter” now I realize Proverbs 12:16 was working on the inside and Cheryl is living Gods Word on the outside.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. You can’t imagine how important a lesson that was. As you know I started a new job recently but the person I work for likes to beret people and that old Marine in me wasn’t having nm o part of that. Long story short. After much prayer, the Lord had me read your blog. Again, I say thanks, timely and just what the Lord would have me to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

