“God Bless The Broken Road . . .”

broken roadLately, I’ve recently been spending a lot of time in reflective prayer and in doing some soul searching. I’m praying and seeking guidance about where I’d like to see myself in five years. But more so, I’ve been seeking the direction, God would like to see my life take over the next five years. Now, all of this may seem pretty normal to you, but allow me to give you some her-story behind my contemplative state.

I believe we’re all born with a God given purpose and plan for our lives. Forty years ago I was on a different path – the path I believe God had intended me to take. I allowed fear and discouragement to dissuade me from that path and send me down a different road. For years, I’ve regretted my decision and wasted energy vexing my own spirit. I’ve heard ministers preach about and read countless books and articles about letting go of the past and embracing where we are. Each time I tried to release and move forward, I became so angry I couldn’t fathom how that concept would benefit me, after all it wouldn’t change my circumstances. What I didn’t grasp was the releasing was for me; for my own spiritual cleansing. But in the midst of my anguish, God still had a plan.

Over the past few days, I’ve had a coming to terms with my life and the path I chose for me. I call it my Broken Road.” Had I not moved to Virginia, I never would have met my son’s father and I wouldn’t have my beautiful son. I wouldn’t have been touched by and/or touched so many wonderful people. I wouldn’t know the majesty of the Blue Ridge Mountains or the roar of the mighty Atlantic Ocean. More so, I wouldn’t understand what my mother meant when she used to tell me, “Baby, God can bless you right where you are.”

Today, I spent time thanking God for all the blessings He’s bestowed on my life over the past forty years and it brought me to tears. I realized, despite my following a different path, God has been here all along. I just needed to release and embrace His goodness. There is a song by the group Rascal Flats titled “God Bless The Broken Road” that I really like. The author of that song had a handle on God’s ability to gently lead us back to His original path although we maybe traveling a “Broken Road.”

When I think of the chorus to that song, “God Bless The Broken Road that led me straight to you,” although it’s a love song, I can’t help but think of my son. God indeed blessed my “Broken Road.” Will my appreciating my blessings along this path change my circumstances? Perhaps not immediately, but I believe I’ve now opened the door for God to re-route my life and lead me into greater opportunities.

Perhaps you’ve gotten of your path and find yourself way off course. Remember, God specializes in re-routing us. He can use your “Broken Road” to get you to exactly where you were meant to be.

Ciao!

By Savannah Jackson, she adds a little sass in every page.

www.thesavannahjpublications.com 

P.S I’ve included the link to Rascal Flats “God Bless The Broken Road” for your enjoyment. http://youtu.be/kkWGwY5nq7A

Leave a Reply

