Falling in love with RVA, day 17: Remembering.

Rose On Wood BW

 

 

I spent today doing something much more meaningful than pursuing my own happiness, I made someone else smile. On yesterday, I made plans to visit a very special lady in my life. She is now a Senior and was my friend, mentor, surrogate mother and confidant all rolled up in one when I first moved to RVA. She still is.

We met many years ago when I was yet brand new on my job and in my career. She took me under her wing and pretty much taught me everything I know. I remember being a little timid at times and she would say to me, “come-on here, Jackson!” And then would push me, not lead me into whatever task needed completion.

This afternoon, she told me she is eighty nine years old and I felt like an infant announcing my upcoming fifty seventh birthday. We had a chuckle about it and she called me a baby; I didn’t mind at all. Although, her body is now frail, her mind is ever sharp. We shared stories of yesteryear and today. She spoke of our days on the job and mentioned several people we worked with. We talked a bit about my mother, whom she was very close to and my son, whom she hasn’t seen in years. I pulled up pictures for her on my phone so that she could see how my son has matured.

It was a bittersweet visit and a bit challenging to see my friend so frail while remembering the way she was in her prime. Although, it was emotional for me, I was so happy I spent time with her and look forward to seeing her again soon. I feel it’s important to be with our elders and those who nurtured us when we were young. After all, they may be older now with snow white hair, but the Bible declares hair of silver as a sign of wisdom and wisdom is what this world is most in need of today.

There is a double blessing in sitting at the feet of our seniors, they have the pleasure of our company and we can glean from their boundless knowledge. Perhaps there is someone in your life whom is up in age who could use a visit. May I suggest you take time out and spend a few hours with them. I promise you the rewards are priceless.

As always, I wish you a safe and peaceful night.

Ciao!

Savannah J, she adds a little sass in every page.

http://www.thesavannahjpublications.com Follow Savannah on Twitter @savana74

Leave a Reply

