Remembering 9-11, twelve years later.

911-memorial

I decided to take a break from my travels today in honor of those who lost their lives on this date twelve years ago and the heroes who fought to save them. When I think back, I remember exactly what I was doing when the attack on our country occurred. I had worked a night shift and once home, decided to sleep on my couch in the den instead of going to bed.

My now ex-husband awakened me and told me an airplane had crashed into a building in Manhattan, New york. Just as I sat in front of the television, the second building at the World Trade Center was hit. Following behind New York came the attack on the Pentagon and the downed plane in Pennsylvania.

I remember crying uncontrollably at the destruction being witnessed around the globe. The United States was under terrorist attack and the world as we knew it, would never be the same. I wanted desperately to help, to use my skills to assist in saving lives but the nation was on lockdown and I knew, I would be unable to get close to the areas where the attacks had taken place. And so, I watched in horror as lives were shattered.

A few years later, I went for a visit to Manhattan to celebrate a friend’s Birthday. As I walked around the area near my hotel, I began to notice construction. It dawned on me, I was staying in a hotel at Ground Zero; I was witnessing the rebuilding of what is now the One World Trade Center. It was surreal. Memories of what I watched the day the Twin Towers fell came flooding back and I was overcome with emotion.

Although twelve years have passed since 9-11, our country has not forgotten,  nor have we cowered down; instead we have grown stronger. Our heads are held higher and our backs are straighter. Our courage is endless and we stand shoulder to shoulder in unity. I have never been more proud to be a citizen of the United States of America. Our colors don’t bleed, nor do they run.

God bless you and God bless the United States of America.

Savannah J.

www.thesavannahjpublications.com

Leave a Reply

