Falling in love with RVA day 8 & 9: September 8-9, 2013

Strong Swimmer in Butterfly StrokeThe past two days have solidified my opinion on how beautiful RVA is. My activities for both days took me along the James River but in two different parts of town. On the 8th, my son and I made our way to the Huguenot Flatwater Park. There were people canoeing along the water and a few were fishing.

We followed the road along the water until it dead ended at Cherokee Rd. Out of curiosity, we traveled along Cherokee Road a bit and admired the houses. I do believe the best part of all, was spending time with my son.

Today, September 9th, took me to Robious Landing Park to watch a group of triathletes swim laps along the James. Now, the funny thing is, I was first invited to join them in the water for a swim as my fun activity. I am not a swimmer but even if I were, I would hardly jump in with a group of seasoned athletes and try and keep up. (LOL!)

Once at the park, I found a seat on a picnic table and watched in amazement as those gifted people glided through the water with the grace of Swans. Later as the swimmers began to come out of the water, the Kayaks came into view and eventually, came ashore as well. A big group of bikers joined the swimmers and the kayak crew and it was obvious they were comrades.

I tell you what, it was so peaceful sitting on the bank of the James and watching the swimmers. It was heartwarming seeing them connect and laugh and talk once the water activity for the day ended. They are planning an Ironman for this coming weekend and I wish I could witness that, but I was told by my friend who invited me, it wouldn’t be much to see, as they will be all over the park.

I’m not sure where my fun meter will take me tomorrow but I’m convinced only nine days into my quest, if I  continued to try a different activity daily from here on out, it would take me years to exhaust the endless possibilities. Yes, RVA there are a lot of fun things to do here, I just have to get out and do them!

Until tomorrow, as always I wish you a safe and peaceful night.

Savannah J, she adds a little sass in every page.

www.thesavannahjpublications.com Follow Savannah on Twitter @savana74

For information on activities in the Richmond Metro Area, click on the word RVA, (either will work) once at the site hover over the Events tab and then click on the calendar. For information on the definition of an Ironman event, click on the word.

Leave a Reply

