With Wings as Eagles

551px-Harpia_harpyja_001_800

I have a fascination with Eagles. I’ve studied them, watched movies and videos about them and used Biblical reference to them to encourage myself. In my prayer life, the Spirit of God has spoken to me through visions of Eagles. One such vision stands out in my memory. I saw an Eagle on the ground with cords around her wings. She was in a barnyard with a flock of chickens. Instead of using her wings to fly, she floundered around on the ground never really taking flight.

The Spirit of the Lord spoke to me and said, “Why  are you flopping around on the ground like a chicken? Take the cords off your wings and soar like the Eagle you were created to be.”  I didn’t really understand what God meant at that time but as I’ve grown older it’s become increasingly clear. 

Eagles have the fortitude to fly alone; they don’t fly in flocks or coveys or bevies.  They are the only birds to use storm winds and thermals to propel themselves to higher altitudes. No other bird can fly as high as Eagles or as long. The female Eagle doesn’t mate with the first male to come along, instead she tests him by dropping sticks that increase in weight from heights that also increase with each pass.

Unlike Vultures or Crows, Eagles do not eat dead animals and once they set their sites on a particular prey, they don’t lose focus until the mission is accomplished. There is much more on the Eagle I could post, but I think you get my point. 

As I look back over my life, a few things now make sense. I’ve been somewhat of a loner from time to time, not by choice but by Divine intervention. God could not speak to me with other voices clamoring for my attention. In order to hear Him and have me do His will, He had to isolate me on occasion. I, on the other hand, had to be strong enough to endure soaring alone. If you recall, each time God spoke to a prophet of old, he took them apart from others. Even Jesus separated Himself from the disciples in order to commune with the Father.

Once I made the decision to accept God’s will for my life, I studied Eagles further. I wanted to know which Eagle was the largest and strongest. In my research, I found the Harpy Eagle. It lives in the South America and can have a wing span of  seven feet. I figured, as the young people say, I was going to go hard or go home; going home was not an option.

I would like to challenge you to take a look at your life and ask yourself if you, too, have been called to “mount up with wings as Eagles.” Not everyone is called to everything. If all birds were Sparrows, we’d have no Robins. If all were Blue jays, where would the beautiful and fascinating Humming Birds be (which by the way are the only birds with the ability to fly backwards)?

I believe there is much we can learn from the  Eagle. When the storms of life come, use the winds to rise above it. If you find yourself flying alone, don’t be afraid, instead remind yourself you have the fortitude to soar apart from others. When the crowd is going one way, know it’s not necessary to join the flock or bevy or covey, if your heart says otherwise.

It takes guts and tenacity to fly alone but it’s only in solitude one can truly learn themselves and God. So, when you look about you and only see you, close your eyes, take a deep breath and “mount up with wings as Eagles.” And if you’re going to be an Eagle, be a Harpy.

“but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31 ESV

Savannah J, she adds a little bit of sass in every page. 

www.thesavannahjpublications.com Follow Savannah J on Twitter @savana74

Leave a Reply

