The Torch Has Been Passed…

Olympic TorchIn the circle of life, we should all have a successor, someone to carry the torch forward if you will, when it’s our time to rest. Our job is to guide as well as train a young person (or persons) to carry on not just our legacy, but that of our ancestors as well.

It’s no secret, I feel I’m blessed to come from a great family and as I looked about yesterday during a family gathering at all the young people, I realized, it’s our turn. Our turn to lead, guide and train so that when as, President Kennedy said “The torch has been passed to new generation…” they will be prepared.

My mother, the late Ella Brooks Roane Jackson as well as my god-mother, the late C. Gwendolyn Colvin were two women who greatly impacted my life. They loved, guided, trained and mentored me to carry their torches forward, but they were not the only ones. There were others, male and female, family, friends and teachers who helped shape my life.

Now, it is my turn to give back and to help prepare our next generation of torch bearers; to pour into the lives of  my family and community. So, I ask you, who are you readying to step up and lift the banner high when “The Torch Has Been Passed to a New Generation…”

Savannah J, she adds a little sass in every page.

www.thesavannahjpublications.com Follow Savannah on Twitter @savana74

If you like to laugh, you will enjoy my friend, Sir Charles at www.thesmilesystem.net

For inspiration checkout Author G D Grace 

Leave a Reply

