“Live Like You Were Dying”

From the desk of Savannah J

Tonight, I had the pleasure of dinning with a group of women, whom I am very fond of, but don’t get to spend much time with. At the beginning of the evening, we shared and caught up. I was shocked and saddened to learn that a former co-worker had buried her husband last fall and I’m sure he wasn’t much older than me. Another in the group shared some concerning news as well.

I sat there listening to everyone, and thinking about how fortunate I am. I have my health and my family including my son, is well. I couldn’t help but think, “There but by the grace of God, go I.” On the way home the song by Tim McGraw, “Live Like You Were Dying,” came to mind.

How many times, do we utter the words, “Live each day as if it were your last,” but yet we fail to do so. We get caught up in the things that mean little, such as riches, possessions, and high powered jobs and pushing our children and spouses to their limits so that we have bragging rights. I mean, lets face it, every child is not a genius and every spouse is not CEO material.

Please don’t get what I’m saying, misconstrued. I am by no means calling anyone’s child or significant other unintelligent, nor am I saying we shouldn’t try our best. What I am saying is meet people where they are; accepting them for who they are.

When I heard my friend say, ‘we’re packing as much as we can into however much time we have left,’ it brought things further into perspective. What really is important to me? To you? On the other hand, during a conversation with my sister, who is set to retire soon, I mentioned that she could now do all the things she’s always wanted to. She turned to me and said, “I already have.”

It occurred to me, my sister has been living her life along. She didn’t wait for retirement or to have a certain amount of money in the bank or to even to have the right person in her life; she simply lived.

After the conversation with my dear friends, I decided that I’m on the right path. I’ve started eating better; realized Valentine’s Day is about more then a romantic relationship; tell my family how much I love them more often, and kiss my adult son whenever I get the notion.  I no longer allow anyone to use me as a trash can for their unhappiness because they refuse to live their best life. And above all, I’m growing in my Spiritual walk.

If you haven’t taken the time to listen to the song, “Live Like You Were Dying,” by Tim McGraw, please take a minute, go to youtube and do so. Even if you don’t, start now, wherever you are, to live your best life. If you’ve never really given it a thought and don’t know where to start, well, just spend some quiet time listening to your heart. All you need to know, is right there.

I wish you peace, Savannah J

Leave a Reply

